Review | A Court of Thorns and Roses

“You can either die tonight or offer your life to Prythian by living in it forever, forsaking the human realm.”

Abstract

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!Goodreads

This post may contain affiliate links. Read the full disclosure here.

Thoughts About The Book

IMG_20160519_201756I recently purchased A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) and its sequel A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOMAF) written my Sarah J. Maas after all of the hype on #bookstagram. Yes. I gave in to the peer pressure temptation; but you know what? It was most definitely worth every dollar I spent. I’ve only finished ACOTAR, but I know that ACOMAF will be just as amazing, if not more. Let me first start by acknowledging that proper words cannot even express how wonderful and enchanting the world Maas created is. How can my words even compare to those I just read? Well, I’m going to try anyway.

For those that haven’t read or heard of ACOTAR, it is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Maas seriously knocks this out of the park. There is romance, hate, pain, beauty, action, politics, everything a story needs. The entire Beauty and the Beast story is told throughout ACOTAR, but in its own way. What a unique pleasure it was, noticing how all of the original Beauty and the Beast scenes fit in as I was reading. The ability to create a seamless retelling such as this, while including everything we love about Beauty and the Beast, pushes ACOTAR to my favorites list.

Maas incorporates such powerful scenes on us. For me, each time she described the music and vivid colors, it would really strike a chord. There is something so magical about her words, that they seem to sink in and make you feel as though you are living what Feyre (our main character) is living. How does she do that?? I’m positive that I felt every emotion while reading ACOTAR – from wonder to gleaming joy to heart wrenching to fury. Maas brings out every raw feeling with each page. There were times when I couldn’t finish the pages fast enough; I needed to drink in her words until I was so lost in this Faerie world, it was almost painful to wrench myself out. I want to throw in a note that there are some steamy scenes in this book, I mean scenes that were making me blush a little (and I have a kid!), but it all adds to the beautiful storm of ACOTAR. I will also disclose that I would categorize this as more New Adult than Young Adult, so be prepared!

Maas has most definitely been moved to my autobuy author list. I also recently purchased her first book in another series, Throne of Glass and now I’m more excited to read that, and of course ACOMAF, than anything else. *Standing Ovation* Bravo Maas. Cheers to this wonderful Faerie word and your magical writing!

IMG_20160516_205258 (1)

Recommended:

Yes. Yes. Yes. If you couldn’t tell my passion from the review above, Maas is an autobuy. This is a purchase you will regret if you don’t do it. Unless you don’t love fairy tales, faeries, magic, love, and all things heart wrenching. Then maybe put it back on the shelf.


My 5 Cup Rating:
☕☕☕
☕ (Favorite!)

Book Info

Genre: Fairy Tale (retelling), Fantasy
Pages: 432 (Hardcover)
Publication Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Blomberry USA Children’s
Website: Sarah J. Maas official website
A Court of Thorns and Roses on Goodreads
Sarah J. Maas Amazon author page
My Review Copy: Purchased – Amazon
◄ Where to Get Your Copy:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble


 *If you would like to purchase as an E-Book, the kindle app is free to download on any device. You can download for FREE on Amazon – Here*

The Next Book in The Series:

A Court of Mist and Fury


What were your thoughts on ACOTAR? Favorite character, quote, scene? Were you able to tell where the overlaps are with Beauty and the Beast? And how about those steamy scenes? *fans self*
Post your thoughts below or discuss with me on:
Facebook (/booksunveiled), Twitter @books_unveiled, Instagram @booksunveiled, or Google+ (Books Unveiled)
**Use #booksunveiledreads


2 thoughts on “Review | A Court of Thorns and Roses

  • June 2, 2016 at 9:39 pm
    Permalink

    Firstly, your site is so pretty! :’) I love anything Sarah J. Maas writes. I will literally read anything. I really loved ACOTAR because it was a fairy tell retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I really want to read ACOMF but everything that I know hasn’t been able to read anything after because it was so good.

    Reply
  • Pingback: Review | A Court of Mist and Fury – Books Unveiled

Post your thoughts here!

%d bloggers like this: